The 2008 Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Awards for Excellence in Reporting on Drug and Alcohol Problems

2008 Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Awards Presenters and Speakers:

Campbell Brown, CNN
John Whitehead, Whitehead Foundation
Diane Sawyer, ABC TV
Joan Ganz Cooney, Children’s Television Workshop
Peggy Noonan, Wall Street Journal
Marie Brenner, Vanity Fair


2008 Nancy Dickerson Whitehead Awards Winners:

Cara Hetland and Tom Robertson, Minnesota Public Radio for “Fetal Alcohol Syndrome: The Invisible Disorder.”
A comprehensive radio series on the impact of fetal alcohol syndrome on children and adults who struggle with the condition, and on the educational, judicial, foster care, adoption and substance abuse treatment systems. (September 7–December 20, 2007)

Todd Jarrell, Two Six Inc./WCTE-TV for “Crank: Darkness on the Edge of Town.”
A documentary film about methamphetamine’s grip on a small town in Upper Cumberland, Tennessee and efforts to fight it. (November 6, 2007)

Jim Schaefer and Joe SwickardDetroit Free Press for “Fatal Euphoria.”
A 15-article series documenting fentanyl’s introduction to, popularity in and role in overdose deaths in the Detroit Metropolitan area. (June 24, 2007)

Nick MiroffThe Washington Post for “A Dark Addiction.”
An article examining painkiller use, addiction and treatment in Southwestern Virginia, where the prevalence of coal mining and subsequent injuries have led to epidemic painkiller abuse.
(January 13, 2008)