Drug Strategies, created in 1993 with support from major foundations, is a non-profit research institute that promotes more effective drug abuse prevention, education, and treatment.


Our mission is to identify and promote more effective approaches to substance abuse and to increase public understanding of current research on what works and what does not.

Board of Directors


Philip B. Heyman

Board Chair
Harvard Law School Professor
Former U.S. Deputy Attorney General

Mathea Falco

President, Drug Strategies
Former U.S. Secretary of State for International Narcotic Matters


Louise Bryson
Chair Emerita, J. Paul Getty Trust
Charles Kirkwood
President, Shawnee Holding LLC
Marian Wright Edelman
President, Children’s Defense Fund
Dr. A. Thomas McLellan
Former Deputy Director, U.S. Office of National Drug Control Policy
James R. Jones
Former U.S. Ambassador to Mexico Former Member of Congress
Morris Panner
CEO, Ambra Health
Michael Kantor
Former U.S. Secretary of Commerce and Former U.S. Trade Representative
Marni Vliet
Former President, Kansas Health Foundation
Hubert Williams
Former President, Police Foundation

Former Board Members

Robert Carswell (1928–2016)
Senior Partner, Shearman & Sterling
Dr. Dean Jamison
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, University of Washington
Dr. David A. Kessler
Former FDA Commissioner
Professor of Pediatrics and Epidemiology
Charles Ruff (1939–2000)
Former White House Counsel
Dr. Michael Crichton (1942–2008)
Author, Film Director
Mark Kleiman (1951-2019)
Professor of Public Policy, NYU
Chairman, BOTEC Analysis Corporation
Dr. Thomas Schelling (1921–2016)
Nobel Laureate, Professor of Economics, University of Maryland
Neil Goldschmidt
Former Governor of Oregon, Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation
Robert S. McNamara (1916–2009)
Former President, World Bank
Former U.S. Secretary of Defense
Herbert Sturz
Senior Advisor, Open Society Foundations
Dr. Avram Goldstein (1919–2012)
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology, Stanford University
Norval Morris (1923–2004)
University of Chicago Law School
Hope Taft
Co-Founder, Ohio Parents for a Drug-Free Youth
Dr. Pedro José Greer
Florida International University School of Medicine
Dr. Robert B. Millman (1939–2017)
Psychiatrist, New York
Nancy Dickerson Whitehead (1927–1997)
President, Television Corporation of America
Dr. Margaret Hamburg
Former Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Former Commissioner of Health, New York City
Howard E. Prunty
Former President, National Association of Black Social Workers
Lee Hamilton
Former Director, The Woodrow Wilson Center, Washington, D.C.
Alice Rivlin (1931-2019)
Brookings Institution
Former Vice Chair, Federal Reserve

Foundation Support

Drug Strategies has received generous support from the following foundations:

Abell Foundation

The Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands

The Bonderman Family Foundation

Carolyn and Kenneth Brody Foundation

John and Louise Bryson Family Fund

The California Endowment

Carnegie Corporation of New York

The Annie E. Casey Foundation

Cisco Foundation

The Edna McConnell Clark Foundation

The Commonwealth Fund

Fannie Mae Foundation (FNMA)

Ford Foundation

Richard and Rhoda Goldman Fund

William T. Grant Foundation

Mimi and Peter Haas Foundation

Hamilton County Alcohol and Drug Addiction Services Board (Ohio)

Conrad N. Hilton Foundation

Horizon Foundation

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation

Kansas Health Foundation

Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation

John S. and James L. Knight Foundation

John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

The New York Community Trust

Open Society Foundations

The Lisa and John Pritzker Family Fund

The Spencer Foundation

STAR Alliance for Drug-Free Youth

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

University of Minnesota Institute on Criminal Justice

Whitehead Foundation

Contact Us

      2101 L St. NW, Suite 800
        Washington, D.C. 20037