Board of Directors

Current Board Members:


heymannPhilip B. Heymann

Former U.S. Deputy Attorney General  
Harvard Law School
Board Chair





Mathea Falco

President, Drug Strategies






Louise Bryson
Chair Emerita, J. Paul Getty Trust

Marian Wright Edelman
President, Children’s Defense Fund

James R. Jones
Former U.S. Ambassador to Mexico
Former Member of Congress

Michael Kantor
Former Secretary of Commerce and former USTR

Dr. David A. Kessler
Former FDA Commissioner
Professor of Pediatrics and Epidemiology, UCSF

Charles Kirkwood
President, Shawnee Holding LLC

Dr. A. Thomas McLellan
CEO, Treatment Research Institute
Former Deputy Director, U.S. Office of National Drug Control Policy

Morris Panner
CEO, Ambra Health

Marni Vliet
Former President, Kansas Health Foundation

Hubert Williams
Former President, Police Foundation

Former Board Members: 

Robert Carswell (1928–2016)
Senior Partner, Shearman & Sterling

Dr. Michael Crichton (1942–2008)

Neil Goldschmidt
Former Governor of Oregon
Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation

Dr. Avram Goldstein (1919–2012)
Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology, Stanford University

Dr. Pedro José Greer
Florida International University School of Medicine

Dr. Margaret Hamburg
Commissioner of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Former Commissioner of Health, New York City

Lee Hamilton
Former Director, The Woodrow Wilson Center, Washington, D.C.

Dr. Dean Jamison
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation, University of Washington Department of Global Health

Mark Kleiman (1951-2019)
Professor of Public Policy, UCLA 
Chairman, BOTEC Analysis Corporation

Robert S. McNamara (1916–2009)
Former President, World Bank

Norval Morris (1923–2004)
University of Chicago Law School

Dr. Robert B. Millman (1939–2017)
Psychiatrist, New York

Howard E. Prunty
Former President, National Association of Black Social Workers

Alice Rivlin (1931-2019)
Brookings Institution

Charles Ruff (1939–2000)
Former White House Counsel

Dr. Thomas Schelling (1921–2016)
Nobel Laureate, Professor of Economics, University of Maryland

Herbert Sturz
Trustee, Open Society Institute

Hope Taft
Co-Founder, Ohio Parents for a Drug-Free Youth

Nancy Dickerson Whitehead (1927–1997)
President, Television Corporation of America